A Little Easter Weekend Update

img_0051Hello everyone! Hope you all had a lovely Easter Weekend and got to devour as much chocolate as I did.  This weekend has been a rather busy one for me. Not only was it Easter but, on Saturday, I turned 24 too! This birthday was a different one…for a start it involved no form of alcohol or dancing until the early hours. It also was the first year I didn’t get that overwhelming sense of excitement the night before. I am not saying that I did not have a good birthday because I had a really lovely day, I just think this year I felt like a proper grown up. My Mum has always said you reach an age and the excitement of your birthday just wears off. I never quite believed her before but now I understand where she is coming from. She has said that as soon as you have children your excitement comes from them, and even though my little hasn’t arrived yet, I have been so focused on Baby Canty that I haven’t really thought about anything else. I guess I haven’t had a chance to get excited about it this year, as everyday recently has been spent thinking ‘is this the day little one could come?’

Despite being the size of a house, I did make the most out of turning 24 and spent a lovely day and evening with friends and family. Joe was fab and went out of his way to make me feel less elephant like and feel special on my day. (Look how cute the card he got me is below. He knew how unelegant I was feeling so wrote a lovely message inside that made me feel so much better). We went out and had an amazing lunch together (which we ended up getting for free as gift for my birthday and for bump…thank you very much The Boot Inn at Lapworth) and just made the most of spending time together as a two. I received so many lovely gifts and messages and it is fair to say I was well and truly spoilt this year. I just feel so lucky to have such great people around me who go out of their way to show their love and support for me and for bump. Turns out planning nothing and just chilling makes for a really good birthday. I loved that it wasn’t rushed and I could take things at my own pace and do what I wanted to do. Think I might have to adopt this approach again. Especially since on my next birthday I will be a Mum!birthdayEaster Sunday was also a different one this year. Usually it is an excuse to get everyone in the family  together and consume way too much food. This year we didn’t plan to do this as 1.) we didn’t know if I would be in hospital or not and 2.) I couldn’t promise I would feel up to entertaining lots of people. Turns out I did end up visiting the hospital so I am rather glad I didn’t make plans.

bump.jpg

Don’t worry, bump and I are all ok, we just needed to get checked out to be on the safe side. I hadn’t felt sprout moving in the morning and couldn’t risk not making sure everything was ok. Starting to panic, I quickly rang Labour Ward and they asked me to come in. Turns out that he/she was probably just fed up of having no room since my stomach is stretched to it’s limit. I had also done a bit too much the days before and my body was tired so they wanted to check me over and make sure we were both ok. The midwife said that my body was starting to contract (not that I had noticed) and little one was in place ready to go which can be another reason why baby was slow that morning. Probably saving it’s energy for all the work it’s getting itself ready for. I was sent home later that day and spent the rest of the evening experiencing really strong tightenings that I hoped were a sign of things starting. Unfortunately, they have stopped today and we are still waiting! I am booked in for another stretch and sweep tomorrow so am hoping this will get the ball rolling!

Before I forget, I just wanted to take the time to mention one of the gifts I got this year that has been particulalry amazing. I am a massive fan of handlettering and typography, so this gift made me rather excited. Chiara Perano of Lamplighter London has just published her first book, Nib & Ink: The New Art of Modern Calligraphy, which is a fantastic guide to learning the basics of modern calligraphy. When I found out about the release of this book, I knew this was something I just had to get. So you can imagine how happy I was to recieve a copy! Go check out her work, it’s truly beautiful. I cannot wait now to get practising my calligraphy skills!

nib and ink copy

I really hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Love Hattie x

Leave a Reply

