Looking Back Over 2016

What a year it has been! It is fair to say the year Ted was born in wasn’t exactly the best but this year has been everything to me as it’s the year I earnt my mum badge and had my world turned upside down. I know everyone says that you never feel love like you do when you first meet your child but boy are they all right. Ted is the best thing to ever happen to me and I fall more and more in love with him each day! Let’s take a look back at this whirlwind of a year…

JANUARY

img_6259

January saw us properly rly announce our pregnancy by making it facebook official. We were always nervous of doing it too early so felt New Years Day and being six months pregnant was the perfect time to do so.

FEBRUARY

IMG-29IMG-2

February marked my baby shower and the start of my maternity leave. My baby shower will always be a highlight for me as it was such a lovely day where I was lucky enough to be surrounded by so many friends and family that now adore Ted and have been so supportive. I really can’t thank them enough.

MARCH

image

The march baby we thought we were having was not meant to be! I celebrated one very sober and practical Birthday by satisfying my extreme pizza cravings with friends! It was throughout this month that I ballooned even more and developed a severe waddle at the sheer size of the dinosaur I was carrying everywhere. Oh and England won the Six Nations!

APRIL

img_0228img_0225

And he arrived! Two days late, 21 hours of labour and one emergency c-section later, I had my 9lb 6oz little man in my arms and my life felt complete.

MAY

img_1364img_1333

May saw one of my best friends marry the love of her life. Months of planning pulled together to form the most beautiful day and Faye made the most gorgeous bride!

JUNE

img_2149

My signature short bob made it appearance once again and my god was it the best decision…made me feel so much more me again after weeks of feeling a bit of a nobody. It also saw the dreaded EU referendum, which wasn’t a highlight of this year, and the Queens Birthday which we celebrated in true British style.

JULY

img_2829img_27715c3cb407-9cd5-492f-b354-aba502181675-1img_3315-2img_3332-1

July was a month of firsts…first time swimming, first trip away, first ever gig and also the first HOT summer in god knows how long!

AUGUST

img_3550-1img_3636img_3639

August was our first proper family holiday to Brighton and even though it pissed it down, I wouldn’t of changed I for the world. I fell in love with Brighton and now I can always hold it close to my heart as it was the best choice for Ted’s first trip to the seaside. You can’t get more British than fish and chips on Brighton Pier. This month also saw us move into our first family home and meant the nursery I had been dreaming of for Ted could become a reality.

SEPTEMBER

img_5098

I managed to land myself a Product Ambassador job for Cath Kidston so I returned to work and earned my working mama badge. As hard as it was to go back to work and not be with Ted 24/7, it was amazing to have something for me again and to get my brain back into gear.

OCTOBER

img_4843img_5277

Ted’s first Halloween…need I say more! Also Ted turned six months old!!

NOVEMBER

img_5745img_5487

November saw us celebrate Daddy’s birthday and, as the weather turned, called for lots of cuddles away from the cold. I think I spent most of November getting way to excited for Ted’s first Christmas.

DECEMBER

img_5967img_6007img_6036img_5719img_6143img_6167img_6184img_6198

This was a crazy month for us. Ted had his christening at the start of the month and then it was full steam ahead until Christmas. All of our family and friends were excited for the bear’s first festive season so it was full of trips out, parties and lots and lots of presents. Looking back now it was the perfect way to celebrate Ted’s first Christmas and the most perfect way to round up Ted’s birth year!

Leave a Reply

