Tuesday Bedtime Book Club

I have been wanting to start a new segment for a while now but wasn’t quite sure of which route to go down. I eventually decided that I should combine my love of illustration and design with my role as a Mama and do a children’s book recommendation each week. It has become pretty apparent that I have a problem with resisting beautifully illustrated children’s literature. Every time I share them over on my Instagram, I get so much interest in what we are reading at bedtime, so I thought I would share and review them weekly on here to celebrate these beautiful pieces of work! So here we go with the first one…

bearspotting

A Beginners Guide to Bear Spotting

by Michelle Robinson and David Roberts

I couldn’t not start with a book about bears now can I? We seem to have the biggest collection of bear books going and this beauty is the latest addition to the shelf. If you are like me and you dream of seeing some real, live bears then this essential guide to bear spotting, filled with offbeat humor and quirky illustrations, is for you!

This is the perfect read-aloud book that is sure to delight both kids and parents alike – I love a book that the adults can enjoy just as much as the little ones. A young aspiring bear spotter ventures into bear country but soon finds out that coming face-to-face with the furry creatures themselves, whether black or brown, is dangerous business. Silly and fun, but with some real information on bears, this guide teaches us all about brown and black bears and when to run! The pen ink and pencil illustrations are both original and charming and really add to the brilliantly whitty storyline that make this the perfect off-beat read for your mini adventurer. I love the way that this book combines two illustrative approaches (the ‘story’ pages and the ‘guide’ pages are distinct) and that BOTH of these styles are rich with expression and the comedy actor. Michelle Robinson knows exactly how to mix tension and humor perfectly and illustrator David Roberts helps her pull it off flawlessly. These two are a superb pair for storytelling! A must have for any young explorer out there!

Leave a Reply

