To My Bear On Your First Birthday

img_5745

To my teddy bear,

Wow, I can’t get over how quickly that year has gone. It is crazy to think that this time last year I was only just meeting you. The day you arrived into this world is still so crystal clear that it does feel like it was only yesterday. I will cherish that overwhelming sense of love I felt when I first clocked eyes on you forever, and it is a memory that still makes me well up every time I think about it. I cant quite believe that I’m sitting here writing to my 12 month old. Gone are the days of newborn snuggles, constant feeding and that newborn smell. These days I’m lucky to get a cuddle off of you for longer than a minute as you are so busy exploring and being mr independent.

People say the days are long but the years are short, this statement couldn’t be more true. We are only 12 months into your life but you have already achieved so much. In those months of your life you have learnt to smile, sit and crawl, you are pulling yourself up and standing so strong and you proudly say Mama, Dada and Dog to every four legged friend that walks by. You have celebrated your first halloween, Christmas and your christening with all your family and friends and you have been so very lucky to be surrounded by people who love you and would do anything for you every step of the way. Teddy you are so loved!

 You are in every which way a boisterous boy, you like rough and tumble and you have no fear but you still like a snuggle with your mama – thank goodness. You HATE shoes, socks and wearing trousers. You would much rather be crawling about in your vest or even less if you could. You have many toys but you just love anything noisy or musical. I love how much music brings you to life, how you throw your hands up in the air and bob up and down to any tune. You are full of mischief and fun, and have already perfected that ‘it wasn’t me look’ that is instantly given away by your very cheeky yet slightly dirty laugh. My gosh Teddy you have the best, most infectious laugh.

To say you are growing up too fast would be the understatement of the year, you are so tall and strong, it must be all of those yogurts you eat as you definitely didn’t get your height from your dad or I. I swear every time I look at you you seem to have grown another inch. I try my very hardest to let you be independent but its hard, you have so much confidence and determination to do exactly what you want and I love that but sometimes mama wants to help you because you are still my baby and always will be. Whether you like it or not!

I would never wish a second of your life away but sometimes I sit and think what you might be when you grow older a teacher? An astronaut? Will you find the cure for cancer?  I think about where you might go and who you might be? I just want you to know that I want you to be exactly who you want to be and I will always hold your hand every step of the way. You will achieve anything you put your mind too, I can see that already. I am so very proud to call myself your Mum.

My bear, thank you for teaching me the true meaning of unconditional love. You have taught me more than you will ever know. Thank you for making my mama heart melt daily, thank you for being my darling boy and thank you for being just you.

Happy first birthday my love.

I will love you forever and more.
Your Mama x

Leave a Reply

