3 Things I Have Learnt In My First Year Of Being In The Mama Club

IMG_8163.jpg

Ted is now 13 months old – where has that time gone – so I have had my Mama badge for over a year now. Becoming a mother was a surprise to me, a complete and utter shock maybe. Some may say ‘was he a mistake?’ but there is no way on earth I will ever see it that way. I can honestly say with my hand on my heart that Ted is the single best thing that has ever happened to me and becoming his mama filled a gap in my life that I didn’t even realise was empty. This is what I am meant to do.

Motherhood is amazing but it is also really hard too. It is filled with just as much competitiveness and judgement as it is love and joy. Every Mama’s view of motherhood is different but these are the three most important things I have learnt in my first year!

Trust your gut instinct.

No one will know your child better then you so don’t let anyone tell you any different. If people shove their advise down your neck, smile blankly an agree and let it go in one ear and out of the other. Do not let it upset you. We have all been the ones frantically searching google at god knows what hour, trawling baby forums for one questions after another. You will be bombarded with guidelines, old wive’s tales and so many clashing opinions you won’t know what to do. What is key to remember is that you are that little bundle of joy’s mama and it will be you that spends every second with them – only you will know them best! Take comfort in what your gut is telling you and don’t back down if you aren’t getting the answers you need. Keep trusting yourself! You know what you are doing!

Every child is different.

One thing that really took me by surprise was just how competitive motherhood is. From word go other parents will be trying to one up you and it is so important to not let them get to you. Just remember that every child develops differently, does different things and is beautifully individual. It starts with the amount of sleep you are getting, then rolling over, crawling etc…there will always be something people want to beat you to. Be proud of their achievements whenever they achieve them because there are things they will be faster and slower at. Your child is absolutely perfect the way they are. Don’t wish milestones away trying to compete with others.

Becoming a Mother will change you.

Whether it changes you just slightly or changes you completely. I preached on about how becoming a mother would not change me. Absolutely determined that I would still be me. which I am, however I am Mum now too and I have honestly changed. My whole outlook on life has changed, my priorities, before it was ASOS parcels turning up on my door step these days its more likely to be Zara Kids. Before I would of been going out to loud bars, dancing until the early hours without a care in the world. These days you re far more likely to find me tucked away in a cosy corner of a local cafe or taking a stroll in the park. Both however do involve waking up feeling exhausted and slightly disorientated but for very different reasons now.  As soon as that baby is handed to you they are you whole world, you will always put them before yourself and your needs. You can’t stop it from changing you. It’s inevitable.

Leave a Reply

